HOME | ARTISTS AND BANDS | CDS BY TITLE | TOP TEN CDS | TOP TEN IN 2011 | LATEST CDS | ARTIST NEWS | JAZZ GIGS | FEATURED ARTIST | CUSTOMER INFORMATION | CONTACT | ABOUT US

 

 

Rob Koral

Artist cds

Artist biography

Artist reviews

Artist gigs

Artist news

Reviews of Rob Koral

 

01/12/2009 Chris Parker - Vortex CD reviews

CELEBRATION
33JAZZ201
The 'celebration' referred to in the title marks the tenth album recorded by guitarist Rob Koral for 33 Records, and on it, he and partner Zoë Schwarz have concentrated on performing, in the duo format that she considers 'such a huge part of what we do, a very intimate setting that Rob and I thrive on', songs from the standard repertoire, 'the backbone of jazz we know and love'.

Over the whole recording hovers the spirit of Schwarz's greatest influence, Billie Holiday – '[discovering her] was like [finding] the missing piece of puzzle in my life; her soulful, expressive and such unique singing moved me' – not only inasmuch as Holiday's vocal timbre (as it is in Madeleine Peyroux) is reproduced in Schwarz's singing, but also because two of the album's highlights, 'Don’t Explain' and 'The Man I Love', are also immediately associated in most listeners' minds with the great American, and one of its originals, 'Let's Explain', is a reaction to her life and its various vicissitudes.

Indeed the (unsentimental) sensitivity of this song's lyrics – 'Formidable and so strong/But so much hardship pain and strife/Are we right or are we wrong/To know so much about her life?' – informs the entire album, so that even the most familiar fare ('Cry Me a River', 'My Funny Valentine', 'Boulevard of Broken Dreams') comes up fresh, Schwarz and Koral never allowing their clear respect and admiration for classic vocal jazz (Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan, Nat King Cole, Peggy Lee and Julie London are all mentioned in Schwarz's notes) to overwhelm their own (considerable) individuality.

Koral is an unfussy but subtly skilful accompanist, and with Schwarz characteristically affecting and resourceful throughout, this is a wholly enjoyable and clearly deeply felt album from a stylish and thoughtful pairing.

 

01/09/2008 Ron Simpson

The Jazz Rag - Issue 103 -Autumn 2008
"Rob Koral must be our most prolific writer of quality jazz songs”

 

18/08/2007 Roger Trapp

THE INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY.
18th August 2007. Jazz & Blues - THE FIVE BEST GIGS by Roger Trapp
"The bluesy vocals of Zoë Schwarz have won a significant following in the West Country. Her combination with the guitarist Rob Koral helps place her apart from many other female vocalists. A new CD is on the way. Café Rouge, Bournemouth.”

 

03/03/2007 Graham Steel

WINDSOR ARTS CENTRE - 3rd March 2007

Zoe Schwarz & Rob Koral performed some sultry jazz & blues with there quartet coinciding with the eclipse of the moon! A great night full of standards and original material, featuring a soulful voice and sublime guitar playing.

 

31/01/2007 Chris Parker

THE VORTEX JAZZ CLUB. London
31st JANUARY 2007. GIG REVIEW by Chris Parker
“…Schwarz has an engaging, unaffected vocal style particularly well suited to the blues, and Koral is a neat but cogent guitarist, so their partnership is a natural one, and their gigs are immediately accessible, enjoyable affairs.”

 

02/01/2006 Bruce Crowther

“Rob Koral, whether filling, adding rhythmic support, or soloing, is superb, his is a talent of world class proportions.”
Bruce Crowther - Jazz Journal International



One of the most individual jazz talents.
Guitarist Magazine



A guitarist of great sensitivity whose elegant playing is always a delight.
Jazz Magazine International



It’s rare nowadays that an individual emerges in a guitar field
Jazz Magazine International



“There is no mistaking the influence of the late Joe Pass on this solo set devoted mainly to standards, but that doesn’t mean that the British guitarist Rob Koral is content simply to follow in his footsteps. Koral has an exceptionally fertile melodic touch – the brief detours into ambient-style improvisations lend the session a touch of Metheny-esque mystery. Hawker and fellow vocalist Zoë Schwarz make fleeting but effective quest appearances, while Koral never ties himself into harmonic knots. Definitely one for the small hours.”
Clive Davis - Sunday Times ‘Culture’ magazine



“…He is a guitarist of unusual sensitivity, a fine melodist in his improvisations as well as his songwriting. All of these are in evidence on his solo album, Sleeping With Angels’, even to Sue and Zoë singing and original each, both memorable. Mostly it consists of delicate and poised ballad performances of such great songs as ‘Like Someone in Love’ and ‘Body and Soul’ – all excellent.”
Ron Simpson – The Jazz Rag



“ **** “solo jazz for last dance lovers”
Rob Koral’s fluid style and gentle touch lend tenderness to some standards here, as well as some less obvious choices. An unplanned recording process seems responsible for the fairly wide variety of feels and moods on this record. Koral’s treatment of the Disney classic Someday My Prince Will Come, for example, is beautifully soothing. In addition to these sensitive solo chord melody pieces Koral shows off his hotter licks and bluesy influences in songs like I Was Looking Back… where we’re treated to some up-tempo jazz blues with smooth soling. There’s even a Clannad-style soundscape called Gabriel’s Army. Despite the broad stylistic palette Koral’s mastery of the instrument weaves it all together.
Standout tracks: Someday My Prince Will Come, Gabriel’s Army”
By BENJI BARTLETT GUITARIST MAGAZINE ISSUE 251

 

01/01/2005 Clive Davis

“There is no mistaking the influence of the late Joe Pass on this solo set devoted mainly to standards, but that doesn’t mean that the British guitarist Rob Koral is content simply to follow in his footsteps. Koral has an exceptionally fertile melodic touch – the brief detours into ambient-style improvisations lend the session a touch of Metheny-esque mystery. Hawker and fellow vocalist Zoë Schwarz make fleeting but effective quest appearances, while Koral never ties himself into harmonic knots. Definitely one for the small hours.”
Clive Davis - Sunday Times ‘Culture’ magazine

 

register | login

 

Shopping Basket

basket: 0 items (click to modify)

Total : £0.00

FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE

Once you have chosen your CD you can either buy online using a credit/debit card or pay by cheque if you prefer.
All cards are processed on a secure server with Thawte authentication
We accept Visa, Visa Debit, Mastercard, Switch, Solo, JCB

In a hurry? Hate filling in forms? Worried about the internet? Need help? Call us on 020 7724 2389

 

 

 

 

 

Church Hill FarmBEAUTIFUL HOLIDAY RENTAL IN THE WYE VALLEY
www.churchillfarm.co.uk